News Release

Bastiat Prize for Journalism and Reason Video Prize Finalists Announced

Reason Foundation will award $32,000 in prizes at Reason Media Awards on Nov. 10 at The University Club in New York City

Today Reason Foundation announced the finalists for $32,000 in journalism prizes that will be awarded to the winners of the 2014 Bastiat Prize for Journalism and Reason Video Prize at the Reason Media Awards on Nov. 10 in New York City.

The finalists for the Bastiat Prize for Journalism, which honors the writers who best explain the importance of freedom with originality, wit, and eloquence, are:

Adam Creighton, The Australian
Robert Graboyes, The Mercatus Center
Jeff Jacoby, The Boston Globe
Jesse Kline, National Post
Stephen Pollard, The Jewish Chronicle

The Bastiat Prize for Journalism winner will receive $10,000, second-place will collect $5,000 and third-place will receive $1,000 at the Reason Media Awards, where the video prize will also be awarded.

The Reason Video Prize honors short-form video and film that explores, investigates, or enriches our appreciation of individual rights, limited government, and the free market. This year’s finalists are:

Chris Berg, Institute of Public Affairs, Canberra’s Power Grab Deserves to Fail
Dr. Art Carden, Samford University and Learn Liberty, “Should the Government Subsidize…Silly Walks?
Roman Hardgrave and Donald Boudreaux, MRUniversity, “The Hockey Stick of Human Prosperity
Andrew Heaton, EconPop, “EconPop: The Economics of Ghostbusters
Anne Schieber, Mackinac Center for Public Policy, “State Tax Chief Encourages Inspection of Homes

The Reason Video Prize winner will receive $10,000, second-place will earn $5,000 and third-place will receive $1,000.

The judges for the 2014 Reason Media Awards include:

Drew Carey, Trustee, Reason Foundation
Joe Gressis, Filmmaker and Producer, Secret Handshake Media
A. Barton Hinkle, Editor and Columnist, Richmond Times Dispatch
Kristina Kendall, New Balloon Media
Remy Munasifi,
Judge Andrew Napolitano, Author and Senior Judicial Analyst, Fox News
Virginia Postrel, Author and Columnist, Bloomberg View
Louis Rossetto, Founder, Wired
Mohit Satyanand, Chairman, Liberty Institute
Russ Smith, Founder, City Paper
John Tierney, Author and Columnist, The New York Times
Linda Whetstone, Chairman, Network for a Free Society

For more information about the Reason Media Awards, including ticket and sponsorship information, please visit:

Reason Foundation

Reason Foundation is a nonprofit think tank dedicated to advancing free minds and free markets. Reason Foundation produces respected public policy research on a variety of issues and publishes the critically acclaimed Reason magazine and its website For more information please visit


Patrick McMahon
Communications Specialist
Reason Foundation, Reason magazine,
(954) 415-8913