The 2015 Bastiat Prize and Reason Video Prize Finalists

News Release

The 2015 Bastiat Prize and Reason Video Prize Finalists

Reason Foundation will award $32,000 in prizes at the Reason Media Awards on November 10 in New York City.

Reason Foundation is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2015 Bastiat Prize for Journalism and the Reason Video Prize.

The Bastiat Prize for Journalism is awarded to writers who best explain the importance of freedom with originality, wit, and eloquence. The Bastiat Prize winner will receive $10,000, second-place will collect $5,000 and third-place will receive $1,000 at the Reason Media Awards (#RMA15) in New York City on November 10, 2015.

Finalists for the 2015 Bastiat Prize for Journalism

James Bovard
Journalist and author of 10 books

Daniel Hannan
Member, European Parliament for the South East of England

Froma Harrop
Nationally syndicated columnist, Creators Syndicate

Robert Robb
Editorial Columnist, The Arizona Republic

Ari Schulman
Senior Editor, The New Atlantis

Amit Varma
Author and Blogger, India Uncut

The Reason Video Prize honors short-form video and film that explores, investigates, or enriches our appreciation of individual rights, limited government, and the free market. The winner will earn $10,000, second-place will win $5,000 and third-place will take home $1,000 at the Reason Media Awards (#RMA15).

Finalists for the 2015 Reason Video Prize

Glynn Brailsford
Institute of Economic Affairs, Video: “Sin Taxes

Irshad Manji
Moral Courage Project, Video: “How I Escaped Forced Marriage in Egypt

Lou Perez
Greg and Lou, Video: “Dorm Room Sex Notary

Jacek Spendel
Freedom and Entrepreneurship Foundation, Video: “Migration to a Freer World

John Papola and Marshall Lee
Emergent Order for the Independent Institute, Video: “Love Gov: From First Date to Mandate

Reason Foundation would also like to thank the judges for this year’s awards.

Judges for the 2015 Bastiat Prize

A. Barton Hinkle
Columnist, Richmond Times-Dispatch; 2008 Bastiat Prize Winner

Judge Andrew Napolitano
Author and Senior Judicial Analyst, Fox News Channel

Virginia Postrel
Author and Columnist, Bloomberg View; Co-winner of Bastiat Prize (2011)

Louis Rossetto
Co-founder, Wired; CEO, TCHO Chocolates

Mohit Satyanand
Chairman, Liberty Institute of India

Russ Smith
Founder, Washington City Paper

John Tierney
Author and Columnist, The New York Times

Linda Whetstone
Chairman, Network for a Free Society

Judges for the 2015 Reason Video Prize

Ted Balaker
Director of Can We Take a Joke?; Co-founder of Korchula Productions

Host of Kennedy, Fox Business Network

Kurt Loder Film Critic; Author of The Good, The Bad & The Godawful

Alex Winter
Director of Deep Web and Downloaded

For more information, or if you are interested in attending the Reason Media Awards, please visit:

Reason Foundation

Reason Foundation is a nonprofit think tank dedicated to advancing free minds and free markets. Reason Foundation produces respected public policy research on a variety of issues and publishes the critically acclaimed Reason magazine and its website For more information please visit


Patrick McMahon
Communications Specialist
Reason Foundation, Reason magazine,
(954) 415-8913