Reason Foundation Announces Finalists for Bastiat Prize and Video Prize

News Release

Reason Foundation Announces Finalists for Bastiat Prize and Video Prize

Wired co-founders Louis Rossetto and Jane Metcalfe will be awarded the Lanny Friedlander Prize at the Reason Media Awards on November 6th in New York City

Today Reason Foundation announced the finalists for the Bastiat Prize and Reason Video Prize, which will be presented at the Reason Media Awards ceremony on November 6.

The Bastiat Prize honors the writers who best explain the importance of freedom with originality, wit, and eloquence. The six Bastiat Prize finalists competing for $16,000 in prizes are:

  • Tamzin Booth, The Economist (U.K.)
  • Ross Clark, The Spectator (U.K.) and The Times (U.K.)
  • Lane Filler, Newsday
  • Dhiraj Nayyar, India Today
  • Stephanie Slade, U.S. News and World Report
  • Kyle Wingfield, Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“These Bastiat Prize finalists represent the best of a very strong field of international journalists and it is an honor to recognize their work,” said Julian Morris, vice president of Reason Foundation. “The quality and volume of this year’s entries are proof that more and more journalists around the world are effectively challenging the statist assumptions of their peers and advancing freedom.”

The Bastiat Prize winner will receive $10,000, second-place will collect $5,000 and third-place will receive $1,000. Previous Bastiat Prize winners include Virginia Postrel, Tim Harford, Mary Anastasia O’Grady, Robert Guest, Sauvik Chakraverti, Amity Shlaes and Anne Jolis.

The Bastiat Prize winner will be announced at Reason Foundation’s Media Awards on November 6, 2013 at the New York Yacht Club, where the first annual Reason Video Prize will also be presented. The Reason Video Prize will honor short-form online video, film, and moving pictures that explore, investigate, or enrich libertarian beliefs in individual rights, limited government, and human possibilities. The finalists are:

  • Crony Chronicles: I want to be a crony by Owen Brennan, Justin Folk, and Robert Perkins
  • Game of Thrones Food Trucks by Isaac Reese for the Institute of Justice
  • I, Pencil by Drew Tidwell for Passing Lane Films
  • Obama That I Used To Know by Justin Monticello for Just New Productions
  • Top DHS Checkpoint Refusals by Matt Mills

“In just a few years, online video has become a widely available platform to speak back to power and explore every aspect of human freedom and ingenuity,” said Nick Gillespie, editor in chief of “These videos are great examples of what the future of video-and politics and journalism- will look like.”

Reason will also award the first-ever Lanny Friedlander Prize to Wired co-founders Louis Rossetto and Jane Metcalfe for their massive impact helping people understand the power of free minds and free markets through Wired’s analysis of technology, business, and culture.

Tickets to Reason’s Media Awards

You can purchase tickets to Reason’s Media Awards here.

About Reason Foundation

Reason Foundation is a nonprofit think tank dedicated to advancing free minds and free markets. Reason Foundation produces respected public policy research on a variety of issues and publishes the critically acclaimed Reason magazine and its website For more information please visit


Kristen Kelley, Communications Specialist, Reason Foundation,