The Bastiat Prize is named after Frédéric Bastiat, whose brilliant, witty essays explained, “The solution to the problems of human relationships is to be found in liberty.”

Established in 2002, previous winners of the Bastiat Prize include:


  • First Place: Bari Weiss, The New York Times
  • Second Place: Jake van der Kamp, South China Morning Post
  • Third Place: Conor Friedersdorf, The Atlantic


  • First Place: Radley Balko, The Washington Post 
  • First Place: Hugo Restall, The Wall Street Journal


  • First Place: Tim Harford, The Financial Times
  • Second Place: Jeff Jacoby, The Boston Globe
  • Second Place:  Jamie Whyte


  • First Place: Amit Varma, India Uncut
  • Second Place: Jim Bovard
  • Second Place: Robert Robb, Arizona Republic


  • First Place: Robert Graboyes, Mercatus Center
  • Second Place: Adam Creighton, The Australian
  • Second Place: Jeff Jacoby, The Boston Globe


  • First Place: Ross Clark of The Times and The Spectator
  • First Place: Lane Filler, Newsday
  • Third Place: Dhiraj Nayyar, India Today


  • First Place: Anne Jolis, The Wall Street Journal Europe
  • Second Place: John Robson, The Ottawa Sun
  • Third Place: Adrian Wooldridge, The Economist


  • First Place: Tom Easton, The Economist
  • First Place: Virginia Postrel, Bloomberg News
  • Second Place: Jeff Jacoby, Boston Globe
  • Third Place: Salil Tripathi


  • First Place: Bret Stephens, Wall Street Journal
  • Second Place: Tim Harford, Financial Times
  • Second Place: Jamie Whyte
  • Bastiat Prize for Online Journalism: James Delingpole,


  • First Place: John Hasnas, The Wall Street Journal
  • Second Place: Robert Guest, The Economist
  • Third place: Robert Robb, The Arizona Republic
  • Bastiat Prize for Online Journalism: Daniel Hannan, Daily Telegraph (UK), and Shikha Dalmia, Reason Foundation


  • First Place: A. Barton Hinkle, Richmond Times-Dispatch
  • Second Place: Swaminathan Aiyar
  • Third Place: Fraser Nelson


  • First Place: Amit Varma, Mint
  • Second Place: Clive Crook, The Atlantic Monthly
  • Third Place: Jonah Goldberg, National Review


  • First Place: Tim Harford, Financial Times (UK)
  • Second Place: Jamie Whyte, a freelance writer published in The Times (London)
  • Third Place: Rakesh Wadhwa, a freelance writer published in The Himalayan Times (Nepal)


  • First Place: Mary Anastasia O’Grady, The Wall Street Journal
  • Second Place: George Kerevan, The Scotsman (UK)
  • Honorable Mention: Allister Heath, The Business (UK)


  • First Place: Robert Guest, The Economist
  • Second Place: John Stossel, ABC News 20/20
  • Honorable Mention: Munir Attaullah, Daily Times (Pakistan)


  • First Place: Brian Carney, The Wall Street Journal Europe
  • Second Place: Stephen Pollard, The Centre for the New Europe
  • Honorable Mention: Rakesh Wadhwa, The Himalayan Times


  • First Place: Amity Shlaes, Financial Times
  • First Place: Sauvik Chakraverti, Economic Times
  • Honorable Mention: Robert L. Pollock, The Wall Street Journal