The Reason Media Awards featuring the Bastiat Prize for Journalism

  • November 6, 2013
    5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

The Reason Media Awards will showcase the efforts of outstanding journalists who are advancing the principles of free minds and free markets by educating their readers about individual liberty, free markets, and the rule of law.

This event is sold out! To be put on a waitlist, please contact Jennifer Kambara at jennifer.kambara@reason.org.

Three awards will be presented at the gala dinner, which will be held November 6, 2013 at the New York Yacht Club:

1. The Lanny Friedlander Prize will be presented to Wired magazine cofounders Louis Rossetto and Jane Metcalfe for their work to vastly expand human freedom by increasing our ability to understand the power of free minds and free markets.

2. The Bastiat Prize for Journalism—now in its 12th year—will honor writers from around the globe who explain the importance of freedom with originality, wit, and eloquence.

3. The Reason Video Prize honors short-form video and film that explores, investigates, or enriches our appreciation of individual rights, limited government, and the free market.

Notable past winners of the Bastiat Prize include journalist and European Parliament member Daniel Hannan; Bloomberg View’s Amity Shlaes, who said, “It was a bleak landscape for free-market writers until the Bastiat Prize came along,” and Mary Anastasia O’Grady of the Wall Street Journal, whose in-depth knowledge of Latin America is the focus of her weekly column “The Americas,” and former Reason editor Virginia Postrel.

We're sorry, but all tickets sales have ended because the event is expired.